The Gleaner

CVR celebrates its athletes

Each June, Chateauguay Valley Regional High School (CVR) celebrates its athletes by hosting the Sports Awards banquet. This year, the ceremony took place on June 7, and many athletes were highlighted for their successes over the past year.

The first portion of the evening was dedicated to celebrating each team that played this year. This was particularly exciting, since the 2022-2023 school year was the first since the pandemic where sports were uninterrupted. Awards for Most Valuable Player and Most Improved Player were awarded to individuals from each team.

Following this was the major awards segment of the night for the high-achieving athletes from grades 7-10. For each grade, one boy and one girl were presented with the prize for going above and beyond as an outstanding athlete. For grade 7, the awards went to William Brennan and Addison Wallace. In grade 8, the recipients were Aiden Bryson and Kate Tannahill. The awards for grade 9 went to Isaac Dumas and Naomi Lapp. Finally, the grade 10 recipients were Cameron Woods and Salomé Lapp.


The winners of the major awards at this years CVR Sports Awards evening included Aiden Bryson Kate Tannahill Marcus Legros Jade Jeuris Alexia Gagné Logan Van Horne Keira Burton Connor Van Horne Brady Baillie Salomé Lapp Cameron Woods Naomi Lapp and Isaac Dumas PHOTO Sarah Rennie


Before moving on to the major awards for senior students, the “Three Sports” awards were given to all athletes who played three sports over the course of the year.

Lastly, there were six major awards given to grade 11 athletes. The first was the Desire, Dedication, and Determination award, which is given to one male and one female athlete. This was presented to Brady Baillie and Jade Jeuris. The Roy Younie Award for Sportsmanship was presented to Marcus Legros and Charlie Emond-Candice.

The following three awards were each given to one student. The Tony Evans Award for Athletic/Academic Achievement, which was presented by his daughter, Lisa Evans, was awarded to Jade Jeuris. The Norm Woods Award for Outstanding Male Athlete went to Connor Van Horne, and the Faye Craig Award for Outstanding Female athlete went to Alexia Gagné.

The last award of the evening was the Champ Memorial Trophy, which is presented to the students who contributed the most to the school’s athletic program. This went to Keira Burton and Logan Van Horne.

Latest stories

Franklin Elementary is now officially a Living School

Sarah Rennie

Appeals court rules English boards are exempt from parts of Bill 101

Sarah Rennie - LJI Reporter

NFSB names new principals and directors

The Gleaner

Leave a comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

Follow by Email