The Gleaner

Louise Lebrun re-elected as Prefect for the MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent

The thirteen mayors of the municipalities making up the MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent voted unanimously to renew the mandate of Sainte-Barbe Mayor Louise Lebrun as prefect. During the regular council meeting on November 27, Ms. Lebrun happily accepted to continue in the role for another two years.
“I would like to thank my colleagues for their trust. This is a welcomed recognition of the work we have accomplished as a team to date,” said Ms. Lebrun. “It is an honour for me to continue to represent and promote our beautiful region. I consider it my duty to push for progress on regional issues and projects, particularly those with the potential to improve the living conditions for citizens in the Haut-Saint-Laurent.”
Ms. Lebrun has served as mayor of the municipality of Sainte-Barbe since 2009 and as prefect for the MRC since 2015. The following elected officials will serve as Deputy Prefect until the next round of municipal elections scheduled for 2021: Linda Gagnon, Mayor of Dundee, until April 2020; Pierre Poirier, Mayor of Godmanchester, from May to October 2020; Douglas Brooks, Mayor of Franklin, from November 2020 to April 2021 and Gilles Dagenais, Mayor of Saint-Chrysostome, from May to October 2021.
The MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent is currently in the midst of a strategic planning exercise aimed at optimizing the management and promotion of the services offered by the MRC. For more information, visit

Louise Lebrun, the Mayor of Sainte-Barbe, has been re-elected as Prefect for the MRC du haut-Saint-Laurent. (PHOTO: MRC du Haut-Saint-Laurent)

Latest stories

Riding out the storm in Dundee

Sarah Rennie - LJI Reporter

Frustrated Huntingdon paramedics call for change to shift work

Sarah Rennie - LJI Reporter

MRC moves to restrain illegal dumping

Holly Dressel - LJI Reporter

Leave a comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

Follow by Email

Read 4 articles per month for free or subscribe and help support local news!



Our Community, Our Newspaper!

Print edition & digital access only $60 per year.


Digital access only $40 per year.

Breaking & Community news are always free!