The Gleaner

MWCN rewards community spirit

Earlier this spring, the Monteregie West Community Network (MWCN) presented Community Spirit Awards to a total of 41 students from the 15 schools and centres of the New Frontiers School Board (NFSB). Each school was asked to submit the names of those who show exemplary community spirit, and each recipient received a certificate and either a bursary or gift card for Bureau en Gros.

The stories behind the students who were nominated are inspiring. For example, the three winners from Heritage Elementary School in Huntingdon are all active within both their school and the community. Alexa Moore helps in the office at school and at the Huntingdon Figure Skating Club with Addison Wallace, who was also recognized for representing Heritage at the NFSB student coalition. The third student nominated was Olivia Wallace, who planted pumpkins and then harvested and sold them to raise funds for research into children’s cancer. She donated $600 to the Canadian Cancer Society as a result of her project.

“They deserve so much recognition for their hard work and kindness,” says Tara Leggo, a teacher at Heritage Elementary. “I just think these kids are amazing people,” she says.


NOVA Career Center (2 recipients) Natasha Trottier
Debra Wright
Howard S. Billings Regional High School (1 recipient) Riley Authier
St.Willibrord Elementary School (2 recipients) Liam Sullivan
Xavier Savard
Mary Gardner School (2 recipients) Evelyn Fuller
Nikole Farkas
Centennial Park School (2 recipients) Goldon Adewunmi
Ethan Patulli
Harmony Elementary School (2 recipients) Kenyah Pascal
Devan Ricardo Gonzalez
Ormstown Elementary School Sebastien Robert-Fato
(9 recipients) Travis Irving
Zoey Hebert
Grace Hurley
Bentley Demers-Festa
Jackie Demers-Laforce
Maïla Paquette Guionnet
Maria Shaw
Bobby Gordon 
HAECC (2 recipients) Rene Gobeil
Krystel Cloutier Montreuil
Heritage Elementary School (3 recipients) Olivia Wallace
Addison Wallace
Alexa Moore
Howick Elementary School (2 recipients) Kennedy Peddie
Karsen Cosgrove
Chateauguay Valley Regional High School (2 recipients) Nelleke Nieuwenhof
Andrew Sinray
CVCEC (2 recipients) Holly Nowak
Adam Brabant
Gault Elementary School (6 recipients) Sharlie Williams
Océanne Lecompte
Felicia Côté
Leya Prévost
Audrey-Anne Turcotte
Thalye Picard
Hemmingford Elementary School (2 recipients) Charlie Jeuris
Simon Rousseau
Franklin elementary (2 recipients) Reagan Greenhalgh
Carter Lowden


Latest stories

Death following collision in Saint-Stan ruled accidental

The Gleaner

Quebec will appeal ruling that declared Bill 40 school board reform ‘unconstitutional’

Sarah Rennie - LJI Reporter

Huntingdon’s BMO is slated to close next April

Sarah Rennie - LJI Reporter

Leave a comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

Follow by Email